The Sailors' Reading Room
This 'Room of Rest and Recreation' for Southwold sailors was built in 1864 in memory of Captain Rayley, a Naval Officer at the time of the Battle of Trafalgar who had died in 1863. In the mid 19th century Southwold beach and harbour were filled with fishing boats and it was their masters and crew who were the founding members.
Today, the Reading Room is a Registered Charity and, as well as providing a small but fascinating museum to the Town's seafaring past, continues to be a lively social base for local fishermen, lifeboatmen and Coastguards.
Visitors are very welcome and, while there is no charge for admission, a box for much-needed donations is provided.